BTEC Level 1 & 2Construction and the Built Environment

This qualification is the Technical Award equivalent in size to 1 GCSE. It has been designed to give students the opportunity to gain broad knowledge and understanding of Construction and the Built environment but is also linked to many other subjects taught in schools such as; English, Maths and Science. 

Qualification Units

This qualification consists of 3 mandatory units that form the fundamental knowledge, skills and understanding of construction technology and design. 1 further unit is then chosen from a choice of 7 optional units. 

Mandatory Units

  • Unit 1: Construction Technology – Externally Tested. Two opportunities 10th January 2019 and the 16th May 2019. One hour in duration
  • Unit 2: Construction and Design
  • Unit 3: Scientific and Mathematical Applications for Construction

Optional Units

  • Carpentry and Joinery
  • Electrical
  • Painting and Decorating
  • Brickwork

BTEC Assessments and Grading

BTECs are assessed through a combination of tutor marked assignments and external assessments which are set and marketed by the awarding body. 

BTECs use the following grading structure: P (Pass), M (Merit) & D (Distinction). If submitted work doesn’t meet the set standards, it’ll be awarded a U grade which means Unclassified.